Series reread anyone?

Last weekend, I went to my library’s semi-annual book sale, where essentially all hardcovers are one dollar apiece and mass market paperbacks are fifty cents. As a “Friend of the Library,” I was in an elite group that got first dibs and upon entering the sale, I happened upon this:

screen-capture

Now it wasn’t a full collection, mind you. Ten volumes in all and sadly missing book one. I almost didn’t pick up the series, but there were two other men hawking over my shoulder and I thought, you know, maybe I will read the whole series. I had only read a couple volumes before and while I wasn’t blown away, I was fully pulled into Jordan’s world and am thinking of immersing myself again.

Each series I’ve read has been an investment, but some have paid off and I am considering rereading a series (this is not something I’ve done before aside from The Chronicles of Narnia). Are there any series you have reread? My thoughts at the moment are leaning toward:

  • Book of the New Sun by Gene Wolfe
  • A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin
  • The Gentleman Bastard by Scott Lynch
  • Chronicles of Amber by Roger Zelazny
  • Hyperion Cantos by Dan Simmons
  • Xenogenesis Trilogy by Octavia Butler

But then again, there are other series I have not ventured into including Iain M. Banks Culture series (almost done with Player of Games) and am curious to check out a few SF authors like Tad Williams and Peter F. Hamilton, who I haven’t had the chance to read.

Regardless, snagging up ten “very good” condition or better hard covers of Jordan’s epic series is a good find for ten dollars. Hopefully I’ll take the time to read them soon.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m with you on contemplating rereading a series. The Subterranean War by TC McCarthy, partly to study why I loved it so much, but also to help promote it so sales will drive him to write more SF. The downside, as you pointed out, are the series I haven’t read.

    Do you ever feel like your enjoyment of a book is lessened by the ten others you can’t wait to get to when you’re done?

    As to the Jordan books. I hear they get much better and Sanderson did a tremendous job completing the series. I got the graphic novel version of the first book and really look forward to it.

    Reply
  2. I haven’t read The Subterranean War, but would like to read some more science fiction series. For some reason, it seems that fantasy world-building and character development is often stronger than science fiction, but I admit that I haven’t read a fair share of space opera.

    Funny comment about enjoyment being lessened by books I’m waiting to read. It is so true at times for me and one of the struggles I have with blogging. I have to force myself to read for enjoyment because I remind myself that it is the whole reason I do it in the first place. My to-read pile is simply unattainable. I guess I’m okay with that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

