Odds and Ends

I’ve been delinquent in keeping up with this blog. There are a number of excuses reasons for this — I have recently been consumed with potential changes on the job front and my reading habits have likewise shifted to that of a career-development type nature. Furthermore, I’ve come to realize that a blog that relies solely on book reviews does not offer readers anything more than they could find on sites like Goodreads or Amazon. One year and over 100 posts has helped me to become a more critical reader and has exposed me to a greater depth of fiction. I have no plans to disappear, but rather hope to expand this blog into more diverse topics.

Some of the books I have read recently include Drive by Daniel Pink,  A Whole New Mind by Daniel Pink, Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman by Richard Feynman,  Multipliers by Liz Wiseman, Genius by James Gleick, and my current Audible.com listening experience, Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I go through these non-fiction binges sporadically and I find myself near the end of my latest plunge. I intend on catching up with some new fiction very soon.

Television is a media I try to limit, but have become engrossed with Netfix’ House of Cards and American Horror Story, recently finishing the first season and more than half-way through the already completed second season. There are other shows that look interesting as well, but I hope that I can ignore the alluring pleas of the idiot box.

More importantly, I have spent time with my two boys and eagerly await the warm weather so I can play outside with them. With warm weather comes yard work, spring cleaning, and next week, the assembly of a rather large swing set. I welcome this work and look forward to basking in the sun’s rays without a coat.

So for now, forgive my lack of posts and I hope that I will return with a better reading experience shortly.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

