My Top 5 Must-Reads of 2013

i09 published a list of all of the essential science fiction and fantasy novels coming out in 2013.

Here are my top 5 must-reads:

nos4a2_1351982107pJoe Hill is one of those authors who is addicting to read. His first novel, Heart Shaped Box, left me terrified. I was not quite as enthused with his follow up of Horns, but it was a fine story. I have also read his collection of short stories and am about to wrap up the Locke & Key comic series. I never set out to be a Joe Hill fan, but sure enough, I keep picking up the books and this one looks like a good one. I’m not sure where the title came from, but I can say with some degree of confidence that no book has shared the same title before.

165577723771474518_dtemsle6_b

Daniel Abraham is one of those authors whom I respect a lot. He cranks out epic fantasy, urban fantasy, science fiction and now comics with the first Game of Thrones graphic novel. This is the third novel in the excellent  Dagger and the Coin series that has magic, sword play, and shrewd business deals in a classic fantasy setting.

.

gaimenPerhaps you’ve heard of Neil Gaiman. He does it all — picture books, chapter books, YA, adult, graphic novels. I absolutely love American Gods — it is brilliant. It seems like a decade since his last novel, Anasi Boys, came out. Finally there is another adult novel from the master. I really don’t know a whole lot about this novel, but I eagerly await its release. Pretty much anything Gaiman touches seems to turn to gold.

.

abaddonsgate-300Another book by Daniel Abraham! James S. A. Corey is a pseudonym Abraham uses with co-writer Ty Franck. This is the third novel in The Expanse series. It’s a cool blend of space opera, horror, and noir. The series is a lot of fun and doesn’t take itself too seriously, although the second novel did leave on a bit of a cliff-hanger. The first novel, Leviathan Wakes, received most of the notoriety, but for those who haven’t continued with the series, it is getting better!

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi. The Windup Girl was one of my favorite novels of the last decade. I read his YA novel, Ship Breaker, as well, but it didn’t reach the same level of enjoyment for me as his adult novel. I’ll be curious to see his his second novel rises to the same level of his first.

5117mwAhWcL._SL500_AA300_Okay, I added a sixth, but who knows when this is coming out. The Lies of Locke Lamora was also one of my favorite novels of the last decade. This is the third novel in The Gentlemen Bastards series and we all hope that Scott Lynch can persevere through his medical issues to get this one out next year. He is such a phenomenal writer with great ideas and I selfishly wish I could fill an entire bookshelf with his future writing.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

