Goodreads Choice Awards 2012

For those who are on Goodreads, the book review website is down to the final round in its 2012 Choice Awards. Even more so than the Nebula or Hugo Awards, this is a popularity contest. It also features a variety of genres, so there are likely going to be a lot of votes from fans outside of the genre.

As far as Fantasy, Science Fiction, Horror, and Comics, here are the top 10 in each category:

Fantasy

 

 

 

 

 

 

I only read a couple of the books listed above, so I did not vote in this category. Perhaps one of the best received novels is The Killing Moon by A.K. Jemesin, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. I think that because of his popularity, Stephen King stands a very good chance of winning the category with his Dark Tower novel, The Wind Through the Keyhole.

 

Science Fiction

 

 

 

 

 

 

This category offers a diverse collection of science fiction. My vote went for Caliban’s War, which in my judgment was superior to its Hugo-nominated predecessor, Leviathan Wakes. Other books of note include Star Wars: Darth Plagueis (one of the better Star Wars books I’ve read); self-publishing sensation, Hugh Howey and his Wool Omnibus; and John Scalzi’s Star Trek spoof, Redshirts. We also see popular authors like Orson Scott Card and Terry Pratchett. This category is completely up in the air and I can’t even hazard a guess who would win. I suppose I’ll guess John Scalzi takes the prize for his social media savviness.

Horror

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have very little to offer in this category, but will likely be reading a few of these books. Dean Koontz offers another Odd Thomas novel (I stopped after the third book) and Mira Grant closes out her award-winning Newsflesh zombie trilogy with Blackout.

Comics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once again, I don’t have a lot to offer, but I am pulling for Joe Hill’s Locke & Key collection. While I haven’t read this particular volume yet, I have become a big fan of the series.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

